History of the Palace
A testament to the irrepressible spirit of the people of Mysuru and their kings, the Mysuru Palace has survived political upheavals, disaster and destruction, only to rise out of the ashes more magnificent than ever.
The current Mysuru Palace – the fourth to occupy this site – was designed by the British architect Henry Irwin after its predecessor was destroyed in a fire in 1897. The imposing building that stands today was completed in 1912, but it is believed that a Mysuru Palace was established as part of a wooden fortress, by the royal family of Mysuru, the Wodeyars, as early as the fourteenth century.
In 1638 the palace was struck by lightning and rebuilt by Kantirava Narasa Raja Wodeyar (1638 – 1659 AD), who extended the existing structures, adding new pavilions.